16-Year Old Program Information

For all young drivers, including 16-year old students,
the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) Graduated Drivers License (GDL) program will help you:

Gain valuable driving experience and
Practice the skills necessary to pass your NJ MVC road test and
Get your unrestricted driver’s license.

Step 1 – Student Learner’s Permit

The minimum age requirement to begin the New Jersey MVC GDL for a Student learner’s permit is 16 years old.

For 16-year olds, part of the process is completing 6 hours of driver training, New Jersey provides a Student learner’s permit.

To get the ball rolling, we recommend our 6-Hour Package

Permit Requirements

To get a student learner’s permit, you’ll need to visit your local Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) Agency and:

You must be 16 years of age.
Pass a (written) knowledge test and a vision screening.
Present a primary ID, such as your:
 * Certified birth certificate.
 * Passport.
 * Adoption or citizenship papers.
Show proof of enrollment in a driver’s education course.
        * 16 years old driver candidates require a minimum of 6 hours driver training in order to obtain a learner’s permit.
        * See our 6 Hour Package
Have your course instructor with you.
Have a signed letter of consent from your parents or legal guardian.
Pay the $10 student permit fee.
 
Once you complete the minimum 6 hours of drivers training, you may return to your local MVC office to validate your permit. 
This will allow you to continue supervised practice driving with restrictions

See Student Learner Permit Restrictions (below)

Permit Restrictions

 

All GDL drivers must display a red “reflectorized” decal on the upper left corner of each license plate (front and back). 
Decals are available at motor vehicle agencies, $4 per pair. 
Failing to abide by this rule will result in a $100 fine.
No driving after 11:01 pm and before 5:00 am
You must be accompanied in the front seat by an adult supervising driver
 1. who is at least 21 years of age and
 2. who possesses a valid New Jersey driver license and
 3. has a minimum of three years driving experience
Parent(s), guardian(s) or dependant(s) are allowed as passengers.
A dependant is a permit or probationary driver’s child, not siblings
Only one additional passenger is allowed unless accompanied by a parent or guardian
You can’t use cell phones, hand held video games or any other hands-free interactive, wireless communication device
Seat belts must be worn at all times
You will be fined $100 if caught violating any of the above driving restrictions.


Step 2 – Probationary License

A probationary license allows you to practice driving skills, unsupervised, with restrictions.

Probationary License Requirements

 

Must have completed six months of supervised driving without any suspensions or postponements.
Must pass MVCs road test.
Must be at least 17 years old.


Probationary License Restrictions

 

All GDL drivers must display a red “reflectorized” decal on the upper left corner of each license plate (front and back). 
Decals are available at motor vehicle agencies, $4 per pair. 
Failing to abide by this rule will result in a $100 fine.
No driving after 11:01 pm and before 5:00 am
A dependant is a permit or probationary driver’s child, not siblings
Only one additional passenger is allowed unless accompanied by a parent or guardian
You can’t use cell phones, hand held video games or any other hands-free interactive, wireless communication device
Seat belts must be worn at all times
You will be fined $100 if caught violating any of the above driving restrictions.

Step 3 – Basic License


After having completed one year of unsupervised driving with your probationary drivers license,
you may upgrade to an unsupervised (basic) drivers license.

Basic License Requirements

Must be at least 18 years old.
Must have completed one year of unsupervised driving.
Pay the required fee.

New In Town?

If you are younger than 18 years old and have an out-of-state driver’s license, you cannot transfer your license to New Jersey.
You must first satisfy the requirements of the GDL program to apply for your NJ driver’s license.