Adult Program Information
If you are at least 21 years old, you can begin the Graduated Drivers Licensing (GDL) process for the Adult Program by obtaining an Examination Permit.
For all drivers, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) Graduated Drivers License (GDL) program will help you:
|Gain valuable driving experience and|
|Practice the skills necessary to pass your NJ MVC road test and|
|Get your unrestricted driver’s license.|
Step 1 – Examination Permit
With the examination permit, you will be allowed to practice supervised driving.
Golden Wheel Driving School offers many solutions to help you successfully navigate the Adult Program.
|Be at least 21 years old.|
|Pass a knowledge (written) test and a vision screening.|
|Pay the examination permit fee.|
As a participant in the Adult Program (21 years of age or older), to move on to a probationary driver’s license,
you must have practiced supervised driving for at least 3 months.
Step 2 – Probationary License
A probationary license allows you to practice driving skills, unsupervised, with restrictions
Probationary License Requirements
|Must have completed six months of supervised driving without any suspensions or postponements.|
|Must pass MVCs road test.|
|Must be at least 17 years old.|
With your probationary driver license you may proceed to accumulate at least one year of unsupervised driving
(in order to meet unsupervised driving requirement for basic driver license).
!!!Probationary drivers must observe probationary driver license restrictions.
Probationary License Restrictions
|All GDL drivers must display a red “reflectorized” decal on the upper left corner of each license plate (front and back).|
|Decals are available at motor vehicle agencies, $4 per pair.|
|Failing to abide by this rule will result in a $100 fine.|
|No driving after 11:01 pm and before 5:00 am|
|A dependant is a permit or probationary driver’s child, not siblings|
|Only one additional passenger is allowed unless accompanied by a parent or guardian|
|You can’t use cell phones, hand held video games or any other hands-free interactive, wireless communication device|
|Seat belts must be worn at all times|
|You will be fined $100 if caught violating any of the above driving restrictions.|
Step 3 – Basic License
After having completed one year of unsupervised driving with your probationary drivers license,
you may upgrade to an unsupervised (basic) drivers license.
Basic License Requirements
|Must be at least 18 years old.|
|Must have completed one year of unsupervised driving.|
|Pay the required fee.|
New In Town?
If you are younger than 18 years old and have an out-of-state driver’s license, you cannot transfer your license to New Jersey.
You must first satisfy the requirements of the GDL program to apply for your NJ driver’s license.